Site Sponsored by CakeBoss
The Texas Cottage Food Law Story
Frequently Asked Questions
HB 970 Summary
Texas DSHS Information
Texas Cake Clubs and Organizations
Non-Profit Baking Organizations
Cottage Food Checklist
How to Price Your Cakes
Mistakes of New Cake Businesses
Texas Comptroller and Sales Tax
Food Handler's Certification
Testing Your Recipes for pH and aW
Foods sold under the Cottage Food Law must be non-potentially hazardous.
The definition of a non-potentially hazardous food is on pages 11-13 of the
Texas Food Establishment Rules.
There is a chart that you can read to determine whether the combination of pH and water activity (aW) makes that item potentially hazardous or not.
If you have a food that you would like to have tested, there is a company in Texas called
Food Safety Net Services
which will test a sample of your food for pH and aW for around $36.00, plus a setup fee of $100. (Setup fee waived if lab services total more than $1000, as of Feb. 2014). They have offices in Dallas and San Antonio, and you can either bring in your sample or overnight it on ice.
This is a great resource for Texas home bakers who are wondering if their recipe is allowed under the law.